Completing a university education is thought to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important.

In today's competitive world, it is challenging to acquire a job. While some people believe that the best approach to start a career is by getting a university degree, others think that gaining experience and developing real life skills is more essential than having a university degree. This essay will discuss both opinions before reaching a conclusion. To begin with, recruiters often write job advertisements that specify that a degree is required for the job; thus, the market decides on this point that it values credentials. In other words, a degree is a start in working life because it will increasingly provide opportunities for further development for the person, and this will reflect on the company's profit. According to a University of California study, they compared two 21-year-old people one of which is a graduate and the other has industrial experience; the comparison revealed that the educated person's ability to learn is much faster than the experienced with no degree. Therefore, education does develop not only the speed of learning, but also the ability to provide for the company in a more quicker method. Despite the explanation mentioned above, practical experience and soft skills give an individual a true understanding of companies mechanics whereas education is theoretical oriented. To illustrate, a degree qualification was once a major deciding factor in who gets the job; however, as more people have obtained credentials, employers have become less impressed, and they are starting to focus on practical experience and people skills. That is because real-life work experience shows that candidates can work well in teams and under pressure; thus, they can adapt quickly and achieve success easily in real-life work environment. In conclusion, the ideal employee is the right combination of both theoretical knowledge and practical understanding. In my opinion, different industries and job roles will favour various attributes; hence, neither is essential the other.