In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 to 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often seen that some teenagers are visiting educational institutes to gain practical knowledge, while others prefer staying in schools providing better academic education. I believe that schools should focus on both the aspects of education for better future of their students. To commence with, academic education is a fundamental part in the careers of students. It constitutes a plethora of subjects like english, science, mathematics and computers. In majority of the cases, a child performing well in them, will have a bright future. For instance, students scoring consistently good academic grades have better chances of securing a job. Other skills such as soft skills are either inherent or could be learnt later, and in some cases, the organizations that recruit individuals, provide trainings on demand. On the other hand, although pragmatic wisdom provides an added advantage to an individual, it is irrelevant if the academics are weak. Further, having these skills only in their resume will not guarantee a job, as organizations first shortlist their employees on basis of grades, and then they look for practical skills. For instance, learning programming languages is essential to secure a job in software company, while, just acquiring skill like managing a team would not guarantee it. Consequently, competition has increased immensely and a child must excel in both. To conclude, schools must lay stress on academic education till a certain age and practical skills such as team leading and managing teams should be taught later. A perfect balance of both ought to be an optimal solution and would certainly assist children in getting an employment offer.