In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work?

Many countries nowadays include practical lessons for students as part of their educational programs. A number of schools in some European countries recognize the importance of exposing the children to real-life situations and teaching them practical skills that will help them get jobs in the future. In this essay, I will outline some of the ways schools could prepare the children for the world of work. The traditional schooling system is gradually changing these days. Schools all over the world used to provide basic, theoretical academic education to the children, which was created solely for them to acquire general skills and knowledge about the world they live in. Over the years, we as people, and the world itself have evolved significantly, hence, the need for introducing practical lessons and courses in schools has become a very important part of a child's future development. In the ever-evolving and fast-growing marketplace today, our children must be taught and prepared to face many obstacles in finding, as well as keeping a job. I believe that schools play a crucial role in forming our children into young adults, and that the school system should be created in a way where each and every child is encouraged to develop practical skills. Children should be taught how to apply everything they have learnt during the theoretical sessions, and not just by taking a written test. I think there should be mandatory practical classes for every subject, so that the children could really understand the theory behind it. These practical lessons should then be followed by individual assessments in order to monitor and record the progress of every child. Additionally, high schools and universities should organize visits to local companies on monthly basis, which would have a tremendous positive effect on students in terms of exposure to the real world, i. e. the world of work that they will soon be entering themselves. I strongly believe that if students were exposed to real-life situations at a workplace from a young age and more often, they would have much more confidence and skills in their future careers. For instance, all Ivy League universities in US have practical programs in place, where students are obligated to attend internships at most prestigious companies in the country. In conclusion, despite traditional academic education being very beneficial for a child's overall development, practical skills and exposure to situations at a real workplace are of utmost importance for future success in the business world.