In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work?

Good education has always been one of the cornerstones for one’s success in life, especially for the first few years of teenagers. During this period, it is vital that children receive sufficient learning in terms of both academic knowledge and practical skills. The following essay will clarify the reasons to support this statement. Firstly, children at the age of 11 to 13 years old need to acquire basic academic knowledge in order to realize their full potential. Academic subjects such as literature, geography, history, science, exacter a will help children to get a comprehensive grasp of the outside world and shape their logical thinking, which are fundamental for their future career. Additionally, the time spent at learning academic knowledge will enable children to define which particular subject they are interested in and hence, will have a better direction to certain works. As can be seen, children are not only equipped with the knowledge itself but also are oriented towards their personal strengths and passions. Secondly, schools should not eliminate the practical skill trainings for children. Skills such as presentation, teamwork are equally as important as academic knowledge for children because they will enhance children’s interpersonal skills and common senses in order to thrive in any society and professions. Indeed, we’ve seen so many academically excellent students do not achieve success due to the lack of such skills. On the other hand, as each child is gifted in their own ways, for example some are good with hands or rich in imagination and creativity, these children should also be given the opportunity to express their strengths rather than just being evaluated by academic scores. Hence, schools should really provide vocational trainings for all children to realize their full potential. All in all, with the advance of society, schools should really diversify education ranging from academic knowledge to practical skills in order to prepare children for their best future, no matter what they choose to become. s