In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside the big cities. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern world, there are some governments are pursuing a policy of relocating industries and businesses from the urban areas in the regional areas. Although there are some drawbacks, I would argue that there are more benefits. On the one hand, it could reduce the migration. People from rural regions prefer to relocate in towns because of more job opportunities. This means that the unemployment rate is probably dropped and the local resident’s living standards is raised. Furthermore, pollution is the biggest concern in the cities these days and the smoke from the chimneys of manufacturing firms is one of the major reasons. For instance, a recent study by the World bank found that 40% of air pollution caused in India is because of factories. Another reason is that businesses will be able to save so much money. Especially land prices and staff salaries are cheaper and more available in regional areas which is beneficial to businesses. On the other hand, there are also some disadvantages of moving the industries and businesses towards the regional area because infrastructures and skilled workforce are mostly available in cities. Another drawback is adverse consequences for the local environment. The new companies may pollute the air with poisonous emissions and contaminate the water and the soil with solid and liquid waste. On balance the fact that relocating industries and businesses will help to decentralize and rural areas development clearly outweighs the lack of infrastructures and environmental pollution.