Government should put tax on unhealthy food to promote better health.

Since recent times are witnessing a considerable consumption of junk food, it is a matter of grave concern that healthy food could be promoted by imposing higher governmental taxes on fast food. I agree with the above statement owing to various reasons. To begin with, higher taxes imposed on junk food would reduce its consumption. The people would therefore, be subject to cook and eat the healthy food at home. The middle and below- middle class people who cannot afford expensive unhealthy food would reduce purchasing of it. They would consume it on only special occasions such as ceremonies, parties and festivals. This can be exemplified by a research that the sales of junk food four times greater in festival seasons rather than ordinary days. Thus, higher taxes are helpful in reducing the consumption of unhealthy food items. In addition, the money collected from junk food taxes could be used to promote the healthy food and to aware people about harmful consequences of unhealthy food. In order that, tax money should be used to make healthy food more easily available at reasonable prices which would encourage people to eat healthy food. Moreover, debates, publications and seminars could be organised by government to aware people about detrimental effects such as high blood pressure, obesity and other health hazards. As a result, people would depart themselves from junk food items. To conclude, although it is difficult to stop people from consuming junk food completely but given the affordmation views, it is apparent that the higher taxes on junk food may reduce its consumption to a significant level and encourage people to take healthy food.