In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside the big cities. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, there is a trend that an increasing number of industries and businesses are being established not in big cities, but in some regional areas. Some people support this phenomenon because it brings numerous benefits, while others argue against it. This essay will discuss the issue from both perspectives. It is true that we have obtained a lot of benefits with the moving of industries. To begin with, living conditions in metropolis have dramatically increased with fewer factories. A great many factories will cause environmental problems, in particular air pollution, which is utterly harmful to citizens. In addition, it can improve the development of economy rapidly. The product can be more efficient because the contact between two factories becomes more convenient. Another important point is that fewer industries provide more spaces for the improvement of big cities. Thus, the government can utilize these areas to establish basic living facilities, like parks and hospitals, which are extremely essential to the population. Conversely, there are also some drawbacks of this phenomenon. First of all, it is inconvenient to city residents that all businesses move out from the metropolis to regional zones. Workers have no choice but to take a long trip to arrive at work. Moreover, longer distances mean higher cost of transportation, which wastes a great deal of energy. Last but not least, it leads to more pollution in these areas. Water pollution is a case in point. It is not only deleterious, but also difficult to recover. In summary, although there are a few shortcomings of the change, it seems that the benefits outweigh the downsides, because it makes our daily lives better. As far as I am concerned, it is a good idea to persuade industries and businesses to move out from large cities to regional areas.