In some countries, fast food restaurants and companies give money to schools provided that the school promote their products to school children. What do you think is positive and negative of this in the development of children

It is a popular way in some places that schools gain part of their funding from fast-food restaurants and corporates, which allows their products to be promoted at school. In my opinion, it has strengths and weaknesses for children' s development. On the one hand, funding from the fast food industry can provide school students with better educational resources. Firstly, extra money raised from these companies can be used to renovate old teaching and learning buildings and update teaching facilities, which enable students to learn in a more comfortable learning environment and have access to modern teaching technology. Secondly, funding from private companies allowing schools to allocate this part of money freely, which can make the most use of it, compared with national funding which can be only used on a particular purpose. For example, teachers and students can be more motivated if use part of the funding as a reward for their efforts and progress. On the other hand, advertising products in school can be exploitative and unethical. These products which are always promoted in an attractive way with eye-catchy pictures are aimed at students, who are easily influenced by advertisements, and may put pressure on their parents to buy things for them. Furthermore, promoting fatty, sugary and salty fast food in school may lead to an unhealthy diet which is related to health issues, such as obesity, heart attack and diabetes. A survey conducted by the Department of Education, for instance, showed that nearly 80% of overweight students obtain excessive calories from junk food sold at or near schools. In conclusion, accepting funding from the fast food industry and promoting junk food in school has both advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, with proper regulations, its strengths will overweigh its drawbacks.