In some countries, fast food restaurants and supermarkets give money to schools to promote their products. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Funding to schools by several junk food hotels, and even supermarkets in order to advertise their products has become common in various countries throughout the world. There are numerous pros and cons of this phenomenon. I, however, think that merits outweigh the demerits. On the positive side, school administration can use the received money to provide essential amenities for the school children. Since there are ample of facilities which are needed for the overall development of the students, therefore the management authorities can employ the capital to enhance the necessary requirements in the premises. For instance, if there is a lack of sports equipments or library books, then management can look into the matter to fulfil the services needed. Moreover, it should be further used to improve the infrastructure. This way the funds can be utilized in the growth of schools. In contrast, it has its downside as well. Advertisements of fast foods and other valuable materials would be detrimental for the health, and it would have an adverse impact on their behaviour. Because children do not realise that such food is not adequate for a healthy living. They simply attract due to the spicy taste of cuisines, and ultimately compels their parents to provide money to purchase those things, which in turn, disturbs the family budget. In the UK, for example, about 70 percent of the children are suffering from the problem of obesity. To elucidate, such adverts should not be allowed on the campus as it is imperative to impart healthy habits for the future of the country. In conclusion, allocation of funds to educational institutes by large marketing companies is both advantageous and disadvantageous. But the deteriorating effects are more in comparison to the useful ones.