In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it.

In many nations, it has been noticed that major crimes have declined; however, still, people are scared and have a feeling of insecurity. In my opinion, this is happening due to the rapid use of social media handles and this problem could be solved with the help of government by controlling the public media. The major problem associated with individuals who are feeling insecure is the fast use of different media modes such as Facebook, Twitter and WhatsApp. In other words, internet users are making instant crime videos of the rape victim, homicide incidents and robberies and upload on social networking sites within seconds of time. Therefore, when other people watch such clips, they feel that these type of instances can occur any time; it creates a feeling of uncertainty and fearfulness. For example, a recent shooting case happened in Punjab, a son killed the whole family, gone viral on the internet and after watching this news; people are scared in their homes across the world. To eradicate this problem, the government must control on media stakeholders who are producing and showing such kind of violent clips to the public. This is to say that there should be ban and legal consequences on displaying devastating crime events, which affect people’s thought related to their surroundings. For example, in many Arab countries, no one is allowed to capture and upload crime scenes on the internet, as a result, people do not get horror crime information and they feel more secure. In conclusion, even with the decline in serious crime rates, people feel less safe than past times due to an increase in internet users and the government can introduce rules and regulation in order to control the use of social media channels.