Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

The rapid technological advancements over the last century have come at the cost of a briskly deteriorating environment around us. Many think that only governments and large companies can help alleviate this problem. However, I disagree with this notion and think that individuals have an equally vital role to play in improving the environment. Government alone cannot do anything unless people follow regulations and do little things on their part too. There are various ways in which individuals can contribute to a cleaner and healthier environment. Moreover, these measures do not require an extraordinary amount of effort. Instead, they are just slight modifications in our daily way of living. Firstly, people can choose to prefer public transport over private transport. In a poll carried out in Lahore, 87 percent of the people responded that they would prefer going to work on their own cars. This shows that there is a dire need for people to change their mindset. Using public transport shall not only reduce costs, but shall also reduce the pollution causing emissions from cars. Secondly, the most important thing that can be done is to plant trees. Planting trees is critical as it helps clean the environment and most importantly adds oxygen to the atmosphere. In a recent study conducted by Lahore University of Management Sciences, the effects of a plantation drive throughout the city were measured. The results showed that after planting a total of 5000 trees around Lahore, the air quality index went up by about 22 percent. Thirdly, the usage of plastic bags should also be avoided. Instead, use of more environmentally friendly bags that are biodegradable should be done. An example could be that a certain mart or superstore owner can replace the plastic bags in their shop with paper bags or d2o biodegradable bags. To conclude, it can be said that even though the bigger action like policy formation or introducing regulations, has to be done on the part of the government or large companies; However, the responsibility of a cleaner environment cannot solely be put on these two. We as individuals of the environment that we live in have an equally vital role to play.