A rise in the standard of living in a country seems to benefit cities more than rural areas. What problems might those differences cause? How can these problems be reduced?

In the twenty-first century, the issue of urbanization has gained significant attention in many developed countries. Generally speaking, some adverse impacts would be created when the gap between living in the urban areas and countries increasing; I believe that governments should adopt different methods to tackle the problems. To begin with, several issues could be generated when cities' public facilities are better than countryside’s infrastructure. Firstly, people usually would relocate to large urban areas in order to reach an improved quality of life. Hence, employers, especially 'slaver drivers' in Asia, would probably exploit employees by providing low salaries and poor working conditions. Furthermore, the house prices in the downtown areas might soar to an untouchable level. This is due to the fact that the demand of accommodation would be increased. Indeed, this phenomenon could cause various side effects. However, I feel that these matters could be solved by governments' different policies. For one thing, governments could introduce a strict law to fine companies which do not pay minimum wages. This is, companies' owners would possibly become law-abiding and treat their subordinates well. For another, governments could spend sufficient funds on improving transportation systems. Thus, perhaps, workers are willing to relocate to a city's surrounding areas which could lead to a decreased house prices in the downtown areas. As a result, different social issues could be controlled by governments' a variation of implementations. To sum up, although an ever-increasing gap between cities and rural regions could result in some detrimental impacts, I consider that governments could implement a range of strategies to address the root of it.