In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. with this opinion? Use your own knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence. v. 104

In these days, there is an increasing number of people having health issues related to junk food. Hence, some people believe that the authorities should introduce a higher tax for these kinds of food. I totally agree with this viewpoint because it will help decrease the consumers’ demand for fast food and also encourage people to cook healthy meal at home. Firstly, taxing higher on processed food will make a fall in the demand for it. Obviously, when the price of fast foods raises, the amount of consumption will go down. Take tobacco as an example, since it has been taxed higher, the enterprises had to increase the price of the product. Therefore, some people, especially working class cannot afford for this product many times like the way it was in the past, which leads to the lower consumption. From this case, it is believed that imposing a tax on detrimental food also can be successful in lowering the amount of consumption. Secondly, it will probably encourage people to cook healthy dishes and then enjoy better health. Because when the price of unhealthy food gets much higher, cooking at home turns to be a better alternative choice. For example, hamburgers, fried chickens from convenience stores have been my choice for lunch at my school because of its reasonable price. However, if the government levies a higher tax on these foods, I will consider cooking at home because it is cheaper and even more nutrient for the body. In other words, fast food is no longer suitable for me both of its quality and price so I will turn to fresher meal that is better for my health. In conclusion, I completely agree that increasing tariffs on fast-food is an effective way to protect public health. It should be received more endorsement because of helping decrease the demand for junk food and encourage people to cook at home which are more friendly to our body.