In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. v. 103

Health problems caused by the excessive consumption of fast foods have assumed epidemic proportions all over the world. It is believed that governments should levy a tariff on junk food because the number of health risks associated with consuming this kind of food is on the rise. I agree that a higher rate of tax ought to be paid by fast food companies. First and foremost, we can easily observe the negative effect of this food has on us. According to research data, a large number of people are getting addicted to fast food which results in having diseases, including colorectal cancer, obesity, and high cholesterol also have a tendency to raise. Hence, an increase in its price through imposing tax may discourage people from buying and consuming comfort food, in particular for children and teenagers who suffer the most from health disorders. Increasing taxes would raise prices and lower consumption. Junk food companies would pass on these taxes to consumers in the form of higher prices and this would lead to people not being able to afford fast food because it is too expensive. Furthermore, comfort food would soon become a luxury item and it would only be consumed occasionally, which would be less harmful to the general public’s health. The cost of organic food, for instance, has proven prohibitively expensive for most people and that is why only a small percentage of the population buys it regularly. In conclusion, I consider that junk foods should be taxed at a higher rate to ameliorate this situation. A higher price will assist people to curb their temptation as well as it will force the seller to concoct new business.