In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. with this opinion.

During the last decade an increasingly larger percentage of people suffer from health problems caused by consuming meals in fast foods. Why do fast foods have gained so much success and how can this be frighted? Fast foods have gained a very high popularity in the last decades principally because of the cheapness of their products: you are able to have a complete meal by spending just a few dollars. However, Fast foods’ increasing popularity has been accompanied by a consequent increase in health problems because the food that is sold by common fast foods, like Macdonalds or KFC, is what mostly is far from healthy. The over mentioned food is rich of preservatives, it is made by using very low quality raw materials, and this is also the reason why their prices are pretty much low. A possible solution to this problem could be introducing higher taxes on these types of foods so to discourage people to buy them. Moreover, It’s not only an economic reason which explains the fast foods’ success, but a “fastness” reason also has to be investigated. In facts, in large cities, such as New York City or London, generally workers receive very small time windows from their works to spend for having lunch so that they are forced to eat at fast foods to earn time and come back to work rapidly. So, despite of increasing taxes I suppose it would be a better idea to incentive the opening of “healthier” fast foods, which sell salads, vegetable based meals, fruits and so on. I think this solution would impact positively on the food commerce and it can be supported by few good achievements obtained by healthy fast foods that have been opened recently in different cities. For example, Chiquita's fast food is a place where people can enjoy fresh smoothies, and milkshakes made of fresh fruits and vegetables. It had gained a lot of success so that there was a period in which you were not able to walk through streets and do not see someone with a smoothy in the hands. In conclusion, although taxation policy is always a good approach, the governments need to integrate it with other methods such as education, communication, and so on to achieve the best result.