Advertising is all around us; it is an unavoidable part of everyone’s life. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives.

These days, advertisements are omnipresent, and it is regarded as an indispensable part of human life. Many people believe that they can derive numerous benefits from advertising; however, I am of the opinion that it has both negative and positive effects on society. On the one hand, there are various issues associated with advertising. With the competitive nature of the business, many companies make their products widely known by false advertising. To make their advertisements engrossing and attract more clients, they tend to misrepresent their products. This action is considered to be inhumane as it may detrimentally affect people’s health. For instance, buying some unreliable kinds of weight loss drugs on the Internet will ruin their health, even lead to death. On the other hand, it is indisputable that advertising is beneficial. Firstly, with the great number of advertisements appearing on television, the Internet and posters on the streets, customers can access a wide range of options. Consequently, they can compare the price and quality of products from different companies to opt for the most suitable one. Secondly, advertising in recent years has become educational. The marketing campaign of Biti’s, a renowned shoe company in Vietnam, is a notable example for a thought-provoking advertisement. On the Tet holiday, they cooperated with a Vietnamese famous singer to produce a music video that encouraged people to come back to their families on this special occasion. In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages of advertising. My view is that consumers should be wise and consider carefully before any buying decisions so that they can gain benefits from this activity.