In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

In most countries, eating fast food is common nowadays. Eating too much of this type of food can affect people’s health badly. Governments can help to stop this by imposing higher prices on these foods. I tend to disagree with this statement because I believe it is a personal choice. To start with, it is easy to disagree with this view for several reasons. First of all, people choose what they want to eat and what they do not want to eat. Eating healthy food can be easy if people really want to do it. For instance, if someone works Monday-Friday, from 9 am to 6 pm, just having 1hr for lunch they can bring their lunch to work. They can cook their own food at home on the weekend, saving it in the fridge for the whole week. This is cheaper than buying fast food every day and more convenient. If it is difficult to cook at home, another option could be to buy healthy food at restaurants that serve salads, meats and sandwiches. In this way, they are caring for their health, not choosing to eat junk food every day. It is important to mention that exercise contributes to being healthy. On the other hand, governments can impose higher taxes on this kind of food, but people will continue eating it. People who love to eat this type of food will buy it no matter its price. Maybe, imposing higher taxes can encourage people to eat less, however, this will not stop everyone, especially those who love fast food. Overall, eating junk food decreases the health of the population. Governments can impose higher prices on this type of food but it can not obligate people to stop eating this. People should care for their health, deciding not to eat this type of food but if they decide to eat junk food, the government has no right to make them stop.