Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today.

It is argued that because children spent most of their time watching television, their level of learning has fallen. While, I agree with the statement that television is a major source of distraction that keeps children away from their studies, there are other factors that are keeping them from getting higher education. To begin with, children spend most of their time in front of television instead of reading books; this keeps them from progressing in the school. That is to say, nowadays, television is used as a source of learning tool instead of reading books to gain knowledge, so children spend most of their time watching television shows. This trend is lowering the education level in most children. For example, a research conducted by the University of California states that in the UK there is a 40% decline in the number of highly educated children over the last few years. Although, television is considered a source that prevent children from getting better education, other reasons also needs to be addressed. There are other problems that are preventing children from getting better education. One reason is poverty, my children cannot afford to pay the tuition fee or loans that is needed to get a high level of education. Another reason is the use of technology in the classroom distracts children from focusing on the lesson that is being taught this affects their grades. For instance, an article in the Science Journal reported that most of the high school students did not progress to secondary education because of poor scored this year. In conclusion, although I agree that television plays a role in preventing children from gaining better education, other factors that are contributing should also be addressed.