In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

It is a fact that our food greatly affects our health. This is the reason, some people believe that their should be a tax applied on junk food by the governments. This essay will discuss why I strongly agree with this stance because it is accumulating in our population and also affecting the health of our school going children. Eating fast food and processed food is extremely unhealthy for people of every age. They contain high amounts of unsaturated fats, calories and salts which in turn cause serious problems; the most common ones are cardiac arrest, stroke, hypertension, diabetes and obesity. The reason behind this Western influenced and sedentary lifestyle is that, fast food restaurants and companies providing frozen TV Dinners spend a bulk of their profit on advertising their food, which ultimately persuade people to buy them. For example, we can see that KFC, McDonald's, Pizza Hut are always over crowded whenever we visit, furthermore, eating sausages, chilled or canned food like mushrooms and fish is now more trending in most families, beacause they are ready to use. The only solution to this problem is that governments should induce taxes on manufacturers, sales tax could be raised in order to limit their sale with result that customers could be stopped. Another danger is for the children and adolescents who are provided with unhealthy food in their school cafeterias. It is observed that children of the age of 6-12 and then youngersters are seen to be fond of burgers and pizzas, but the problem is that obesity rate is also rapidly increasing in this age group. We can say that obesity has now became epidemic which is spreading fastly in various continents especially in Europe, America and after that Asia. In 1975 according to estimates, for instance in Pakistan, there were only 10% obese kids in schools but now this amount has expanded to 40%. The research also revealed that there are millions of kids falling every year into health hazards due to their bad eating habbits. To conclude, our body is regulated by what we eat, unhealthy and fat rich diet depleted our health. To solve this dilemma, governments should impose duty on fast food, processed and frozen meals. I believe it would be a positive step if it is taken by the authorities to alter our lifestyle and keeping our youth safe and healthy.