Tourism is becoming increasingly important as a source of revenue to many countries, but its disadvantages should not be overlooked.

Today, tourists spots in every country have become the source of income for many countries, but it has certain drawbacks too. This essay will discuss the main advantages and disadvantages of tourism development in countries and provide a logical conclusion. On the one hand, the two main advantages of the developed tourism industry are a boost in the country’s economy and a large number of new workplaces for local people. Firstly, tourist mostly spends a lot of money on a wide range of services, including hotels, restaurants, amusements and transportation. In that way, tourism yields an income that has a great impact on supporting the country economy. For example countries like Turkey and UAE have a high income from tourism, that makes them one of the richest countries around the world. Secondly, tourism helps to decrease the level of unemployment by bringing new workplaces. Tourism demands in restaurant workers, hotel staff, and tour guides. That is why business owners hire more workers for this position. On the other hand, a large number of tourists can cause destruction of popular tourist destinations and development of illegal economic activities. Ancient and historical places are very fragile and these places struggle to cope with a vast amount of visitor’s traffic. This situation can end up with the destruction of a priceless and sacred place. In addition, tourist can create a situations where criminal issues are involved. A large number of tourists accompanies with the spend of a lot of money and carrying valuables such as cameras and jewellery. This increases the attraction for criminals and brings with it activities like robbery. However, it can be eliminated by the management of a security in public places. To conclude, tourism development has an extremely positive impact on the country’s economy and unemployment level, but it followed by destructive impact and growth of the crime rate. However, the great management of the tourism revenue by the government can solve these drawbacks.