In some areas of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

Night curfew is imposed on the US adolescents, whom it is obligatory to be indoors, except accompanied by a mature or grown up. In my view, this is the safest way to protect them from juvenile crime as well as from paedophile and miscreant traps. To begin with, this curfew initiates child safety and prevents them falling for juvenile crime, particularly which are done under the cover of darkness. For example, the drug dealers target their new customers during the night. If youngsters are lonely, they are more likely to fall for it without realising the severe consequences of their actions. They may start using it out of curiosity and sooner or later may become addicted. If teenagers are accompanied by an adult, they will not drink and drive, also criminals are less likely to approach them. Therefore, keeping adolescents confined to their homes throughout the night is beneficial. On the other hand, despite imposing night curfew on teenagers is beneficial in many ways, some people think it is humiliating and violation of human rights. For instance, the US social workers opposed such curfews and claimed that children should not to be forbidden by law, because it is like a criminal treatment. Such people voiced their opinion to increase patrols in areas, where paedophile and miscreant are more likely to trap juveniles, and instead of locking teens indoor and snatching away their freedom, make streets crime free. In my view, while cities are made crime free, it is better to impose a night curfew on children to keep them safe and sound. In conclusion, although some find it harmful, it is the safest approach to prevent teenagers from crime which is purposely done in the dark hours. Children are vulnerable and less likely to understand the difference between a good and bad company, hence it is best be accompanied by their parents or guardian.