In some areas of the US, a 'curfew' is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

Curfews are imposed for various reasons and sometimes may be limited to certain age demographies in the society while at other times, it may involve a whole community. In parts of the US, a curfew which restricts movement of adolescents after a certain time, except in the company of an adult, is imposed. In my opinion, this is a welcome development, especially as it will help minimize teenage crimes, as well as enable parents exercise more control over their wards. This essay, will discuss reasons why this policy is a good one. Curfew, sometimes, are imposed for security reasons and it can be effective in reducing teenage crimes, which is becoming a worrisome problem in the society. Teenagers, will unlikely engage in criminal behaviour with his peers, while in the company of his parents. For example, I once read a story of a young person, who has been caught repeatedly, shoplifting. However, this is an act he desists from, anytime he is accompanied by his parents. Also, this kind of policy ensures control over these young ones, as they will not only have to inform their parents when they need to go out at night, but actually request for their company. There is also the issue of protection. Sometimes teenagers are unable to protect themselves and might even be unaware of the necessary steps to take in the event of an ugly occurrence, when they are out alone. In this kind of situation, the presence of a adult would go a long way in ensuring the safety of these kids, as the adult would take the necessary steps to protect these young ones. In conclusion therefore, imposing this sort of curfew is a good policy and should be encouraged, especially in areas where teenage crimes are on the rise.