In some areas of the US, a 'curfew' is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

In certain places in the US, teenagers are prohibited to go outside their homes without being accompanied by an adult after a certain time of the night. This is usually called a 'curfew'. In my opinion, imposing such curfews at night is good for the safety and well being of these young people. Going out of the house without an older guardian is not safe for teenagers. This is especially true for a country like the United States, which has many sparsely populated towns. Having a low human population attracts wildlife and also provides a conducive environment for predators. For example, a recent news, which became viral was about increasing wolf attacks in the south of Washington State. Hence, going outdoors alone in such places is not worth the risk for children. Going out alone at night is also not good for the well being of teenagers. This is because these kids are at a very tender age during which the mind and body is still developing. Therefore, there should be checks in place, like curfews, to ensure these children develop into healthy adults. To illustrate this, a recent study by the professors of the University of Oxford found out that respondents who spent their early years staying awake at nights, and partying, had a greater chance of dementia after the age of 60 years. Thus, it is important to keep an eye on activity of children after normal day hours for their own good. In conclusion, such curbs on young adults are for the benefit of their own future and also to keep them away from harm. In my view, a curfew is good for children, even if their freedom is temporarily being restricted.