An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

There is an opinion that more and more schools are no longer using traditional books and printed books rather they are providing tablets and computers for their students. While this phenomenon has some benefits, it also has its adverse effects. The major advantage of providing students with technological equipments rather than traditional books is that it exposes them to a practical knowledge. It means that they are exposed to practical on how to use search engines to source for information which is not within the school curriculum with just a few cliques on the mouse. For example, while reading their text on the internet, they would easily search for meanings of new words and also read up about it. Apart from this, it makes learning interesting to the students who has learning issues because animations and colours makes it captivating thereby making it easy to assimilate. To illustrate, children who has dyslexia learn better with computer gadgets. Despite the advantages, these trends has adverse effects too. First and foremost, excessive exposure of students to screen could lead to poor vision. That is to say that they have to constantly look at the computers if they want to study and do assignments and it is glaring that some rays are emitted from these screen. Consequently, this could lead to dry eye syndrome. Besides that, tablets and computers could distract children from their studies since there are alot of games and videos that could be accessed. Not only will children play computer games, but they could watch adult movies through some websites instead of reading with them. In conclusion, although there are merits of using advanced learning facilities such as computer and tablets to learn, there are demerits as well. Contrary to these positive effects such as widening search options and improved learning facilities, the side impacts includes: deterioration of sights and accessing undesired websites.