In some areas of the US, a curfew is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

Nowadays, it is a controversial debate between parents and youngers about is it safe to allow them to stay out late or they should have supervised by an adult from particular hours. In my opinion, although we should consider their independence, parents have significant responsibility for them. On the one hand, parents should give their youngsters a sense of responsibility and self–reliance to give them a great experience of standing alone. Furthermore, they cannot always have control of them and try to force their sense of anxiety on them. In my experience, when I was a teenager, I always wanted to prove my parents that I have the ability to protect myself and one of my way to accomplishing this goal was that I stayed out until late. Therefore, the family should respect their youngsters to feel free and have a sense of responsibility. On the other hand, if teenagers are accompanied by an adult, they are less likely to be approached by criminals. This protects them from many evils. Also, the parent or guardian who accompanies the children can keep a tab on their activities and warn them when they cross the limits. In conclusion, this ‘curfew’ that prevents teens from going out of their home alone at late night is beneficial for them and protects them from crime and bad company. Since teenagers are too young to understand what is right or wrong, they need the care and protection of an adult when they are in vulnerable circumstances.