Computers are becoming an integral part of education system. Some people believe it might lead to positive outcome while others think otherwise. What are the advantages and disadvantages.

Computers are becoming an integral part of education system. Some people believe it might lead to positive outcome while others think otherwise. I think that the positive effects will outweigh the negativity of computer usage in learning. This essay will discuss both views. On one hand, computers are a boon to the education system, as they provide access to unlimited knowledge, distant learning, etc. Parents believe that this can lead to a better learning and open up opportunities for their children as computers are gaining their popularity day by day. For example, in rural India, teaching of computer usage was made mandatory. As a result, students from rural areas are able to showcase their ideas or talents all over the world. On the other hand, some people assume that computers can have a negative influence on the users. Young people can easily be attracted by the wrong people on the internet and be the victims of their attacks easily. This can lead to issues as big as sexual abuse or cyberbullying. For instance, in Australia, police have reported 1 out of every 5 children is a victim of cyberbullying. However, all of these can be avoided if the children are educated properly and constantly monitored. To sum up, as far as one is is being wise about usage of computers or being watchful of their activity while they are on the internet, computers can be very advantageous. In my view adopting computers in education would fetch far more benefits than its drawbacks.