In recent years terrorism in Pakistan has increased. What are the possible causes and solutions to this?

Terrorism is now a worldwide phenomenon. It has spread its ugly tentacles over many countries – Pakistan is one of them. It seems like the entire mankind is living under the shadow of fear. At present, it’s the gravest problem faced by Pakistan. It shows its ugly head in face of kidnapping, assassination of prominent personalities, bomb blasts, target killing and indiscriminate shooting down of innocent people. The root causes of escalated terrorism are numerous – illiteracy, poverty, unemployment, wrong interpretations of Islamic concepts like Jihad, and huge inequality and disparity among the society. There are some other sources which state that it’s a repercussion of proxy war in Afghanistan, or it’s supported and funded by foreign agencies to destabilise Pakistan, in order to capture its nukes. Pakistan is a heterogeneous society where sectarianism, religious fanaticism, and intolerance are some other root causes. Terrorist’s attitude shows that they do not believe in negotiations. So it’s important to tackle them with iron hands because terrorism is destroying our society at every level whether it’s political, social, economic, or psychological. It does not only obstruct economic development but now people are even intimidated into leaving their homes. Overall, society is bearing a high level of fear, stress and insecurity. It’s difficult to hunt them down as they keep changing their hideouts. But if we want to combat terrorism the government must try to bridge the gulf of disparity among all provinces, promote education and employment and built infrastructure. The government also needs to clearly state its policies to deal with terrorists and anti-terrorism squads and agencies along with society must work together to eradicate this menace.