In recent years, some countries have experienced rapid economic development. This has resulted in much higher standards of living in urban areas but not in the country side. This situation may bring some problems for the country as a whole. What are these problems? How might they be reduced?

In countries that achieved very fast economic growth, people living in the cities tend to be better off than their rural counterparts, because moat often than not, the governments abandon them. The major problems of this development are the high level of migration to the cities from the countryside and the infringement on the general growth of a nation. There are various ways to deal with these issues, however, the development of rural areas and investment in local businesses seem to be the best. First and foremost, the low standard of living in local areas causes increased rural-urban migration. The high influx of people into the cities, for better job opportunities or even the chance at a better life, can result in congestion and this puts a strain on the facilities that are meant to serve just a proportion of the population. Furthermore, such areas become overcrowdes, such that people can become homeless and crime rates can rise fast. To tackle this obstacle, the government needs to build infrastructure and develop the rural areas, so that they can stop migrating to the cities for basic amenities. For example, a survey carried out in Ogun State, in Nigeria, in 2015, revealed that, movement to neighboring cities dwindled by 40%, since the state began providing better housing and developing the area. Secondly, the reduced growth of the local areas, leads to a strain on the overall economic growth of the country. Each of the areas in a state, is meant to contribute their quarter to the revenue of the country at intervals. Rural areas are unable to do so, because their businesses do not thrive, as they are less likely to get loans for their activities. In addition, government policies do not really favor them and most of their patrons end up moving to more favorable areas. To solve this problem, policies should be made to empower local businesses, so that they can make ends meet. The government should also invest in rural businesses and make loans available for them. For instance, research done in Denmark, in the early 2000's, showed that after the empowerment and investment in local businesses, the gross domestic product of the nation, rose by almost 45%. In conclusion, the rapid rate of urbanization in some areas, has left rural areas behind. This has caused a lot of people to abandon such areas for the cities, as well as to drawback the economic development of the entire country. The best ways to deal with this dilemma, remains the development of infrastructure in the rural areas and upliftment of businesses in the countryside.