In recent years some countries have experienced very rapid economic development. This has resulted in much higher standards of living in urban areas but not in the country sides. This situation may bring some problems for the country as a whole. What are these problems? How might they be reduced?

Over the past few years, a number of countries have enormously raised their economic status. Consequently, this has made the living standards of urban areas higher than the rural areas, which could bring some serious problems in the future for such countries. First of all, it is a deniable fact that due to higher opportunities in studies as well as in employments, a large number of people from rural areas move to big cities. This phenomenon results in overpopulation and automatically makes the accommodations expensive. Another noticeable problem is the social gap between the urban areas and the rural areas. The rich are becoming richer and the poor are becoming poorer. This could lead to growing number of crime as villagers want an equal level of living standards as that of urban citizens. Again, putting emphasis on developing urban areas is not a prudent idea by the government. In many developing countries, rural areas are still the base and root for the overall economy of the country while cities are getting the benefits of the modern development. This is an uneven distribution and would bring many negative effects. In the long run, the economic development would hamper since the rural people are deprived of the advancement. Numerous methods can be taken by governments of these countries to overcome these problems. At first, all the basic needs such as hospitals, schools, universities, factories, banks and companies should be built in rural areas as well and their standards should be equal to as that of urban areas. Due to this, the people will have fewer reasons to leave their hometowns and migrate to cities. At second, there will be less competition in every field, so higher opportunities of employments and studies will be available. Hence, in conclusion, although there are several problematic issues related to the economic development in cities, but in my view, the government can and must solve these problems as early as possible before they become unsolvable.