In recent years, many local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

Shopping malls have replaced local businesses in many parts of the world. Most people find it more convenient to but everything they need at one place. As a result, small shops no longer make enough money so they end up closing. I find this extremely negative for a number of reasons. The first reason is that small shops are owned by locals who worked hard to build their businesses. So they are usually more inclined to keep higher standards of customer service so as not to lose their loyal customers. While malls usually have chain shops which are more oriented towards marketing and not towards the actual benefits or needs of the community. For instance, a local supermarket normally contains produce from local farms so it affects the economy of the town itself. In contrast, a hyper marker in a shopping center sells produce from farms that are not necessarily local or even national. Thus small businesses affect not only the lives of their owners and workers, but also the economical streams in the town. Another reason is that domestics businesses, especially those which have been owned by successive generations, become a part of the town' s culture and heritage. For example, every town has its own authentic restaurants and cafes which serve their unique food and drinks. Tourists are more attracted to eat at said places as opposed to dining at the food court of the shopping center. Furthermore, clothing shops at small towns usually employ young designers who start their careers domestically. The closing of these clothing shops makes it extremely challenging for the majority of those designers who might struggle to get a job in large apparel companies which open at shopping malls. In conclusion, shopping centers have taken the place of domestic shops in many towns. Unfortunately, such development has some drawbacks which affect the economy, job market and livelihood of local residents.