In recent years children have been given more freedom than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is often argued that, in some countries of the globe, children nowadays do not have to shoulder responsibilities which their counterparts in previous generations had to bear. It is debated whether it has led to a good or adverse outcome in the children and society at large. In my opinion, this decreased responsibility for children has more merits than perils and over the course of the essay, I will try to give reasons for my opinion. It cannot be refuted that decreased burden on a child's tender shoulder has definite advantages. Firstly, it enables the child to enjoy the innocence and true essence of childhood where one is free from worldly worries. A recent survey conducted in the US clearly states that a happy childhood plays a pivotal role in shaping and moulding the personality of an individual. Secondly, the burden of financial responsibilities often robs the children of the basic right to education, which every child deserves. It can also be said that, in order to send for the family, children are often forced to quit their studies. This, in turn, severely hampers a child's progress and quality of life in the future. However, just as a coin has two sides, this trend of decreased responsibility on a child's shoulder has some disadvantages too. Primarily, in the absence of any responsibility, children often tend to have a laid-back attitude towards life. They are often unaware of the harsh realities of the world. For example, a child who has always received things on a platter, will not grow up to value the importance of money or hard work. Moreover, without any burden on their shoulders, children often goes in the wrong direction because an empty mind is a devil's workshop. For example, in a survey conducted in the UK, it was shown that 25% of drug addicts came from high-income families and have never struggled for anything in life. In conclusion, I personally believe that childhood should be free from responsibilities, especially financial ones. Therefore, I agree with the view that decreased responsibility of children in today's world definitely has a positive influence on a child's mind and bearing.