In recent time economic growth has made some people richer in both developed and developing countries. While studies show that people in developing countries are happier now than before, people in developed countries are no happier than they were before.

In recent days, both affluent and poor countries have had significant growth which stops them suffering from economic crisis. However, some experts assert that poor countries are much happier in facing this life nowadays rather than in affluent countries. By looking at this case, I personally believe that happiness is not only about money but there are some factors involved to gain it in this life. This essay will look into the reasons with some considerations. The striking difference between affluent and poor countries is the culture of those countries. Affluent countries consist of hard workers but they have no interest to build a family. They tend to be an individual person. As a consequent, they try to obtain their ambitions in order to gain self-satisfaction. However, it is totally different from poor countries which put family as the most important one in this life. They earn much money not only to cope with economic problems but also to gain happiness together with their family. Take Indonesian and Korean as the examples; Korean people prefer to spend their life lonely while Indonesian people choose marriage to stay with their partners. Therefore, people who live together with their family are full of affection since they can spend much time together. By contrast, for Korean people to use their money for their own and to fulfil their individual needs need to spend much time in the workplace. As a result, to gain happiness, people need to use their leisure time together with their beloved family. In addition, technological advancement is one reason why affluent countries cannot gain happiness like poor countries. Since the people in affluent countries prefer to spend much time with technology instead of interact with other people. They have sedentary life because they cannot involve in social interaction, it influences their behaviour and attitudes. Therefore, they lack the social respect in terms of ideal human being. In conclusion, to gain happiness people should change their perspective toward this life. They should consider that this life is full of enjoyable things, thus they must take part on it.