In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

By the growth of using vehicles in our life, the traffic problem has formed over the years. The crowded cities, especially, have this problem in recent days, so in this situation, which is caused by the huge amount of cars, pushes the authorities to take some precautions such as taxes, and to use the incomes from these taxes in public transportation. This essay will discuss the benefits, and the disadvantages of this solution. Firstly, it can be said that the heavy taxes make the car owners discourage to use their own cars, because it will be most probably very expensive to drive. But, on the other hand, this precaution will push them to use public transport, so this would lead to reduce traffic problems and pollution as well. In addition, the income will be the expenditure in improving the transport system, which is a common case that, for instance, there are so many old buses and other vehicles in bad circumstances, thus the satisfaction of community will be at a high level. Nevertheless, there are several disadvantages of this solution. First and foremost, as i said before, this solution will include heavy taxes on drivers. At present, the taxes are already heavy for them, and making them more heavy will be just much pressure on drivers, who may not have another choice but to drive everyday. Moreover, the expected decreasing in usages of car will cause a new problem in the economy of both sectors, automotive and fuel industries. In conclusion, new policy, which is considered to solve the current problem, may cause some newly circumstances that should be discussed about the advantages and disadvantages.