In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

A rapid increase in population along with poor infrastructure is leading to traffic congestion problems. One suggested solution to tackle this issue is to have the government should take tax from private vehicle owners heavily and use the tax money to improve public transport. This essay will discuss some advantages and disadvantages of taxing private vehicle owners in order to reduce traffic jams. For a number of reasons, charging taxes on personal car owners strongly and this would allocate for improving public transport brings a lot of benefits in society. It is undeniable that after charging a huge amount of taxes the private vehicle would gradually decrease and traffic problems would improve. As a result, people could easily commute faster work more efficiently and effectively and air pollution would be reduced. Additionally, the bureaucrats can spend money, which is come from taxes, to improve not only public transport but also roads. In this way, many peoples would change their mood from private cars into public transport. For example, the recent survey in Bangladesh says that most of the people tend to public transport such as bus, train, etc. rather than personal cars. On the other hand, there are lots of disadvantages due to the same. Firstly, people who live out of the city do not get available to public transport facilities. So, they have to also pay tax for their personal car which is very expensive for those people. Secondly, the automotive industry appoints a lot of people as a worker. If the personal car is decreased, their business will also be declined. Thus, they can stop the worker's appointment and the unemployed person can be raised in a country. To conclude, there are a lot of advantages as well as disadvantages. The government should make a fixed amount of taxes on private car owners.