In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution and give your own opinion?

Traffic congestion in many cities around the world is severe. One possible solution to this problem is to impose heavy taxation on car drivers. Then this money can be used to improve public transport. However, I believe that this explication could be unfair to some people. One of the first benefits of such a measure is that the excessive taxes would discourage car owners from using their cars because it would become very expensive to drive. This would mean that more people would make use of public transport, and thus reducing traffic congestion and pollution as well. Moreover, if the revenue obtained is used to update bus system and trains, more citizens will be encouraged to abandon driving their private vehicles. It is often the case that public transport in cities is very poor. For example, we often see old buses and trains that people would rather not use. High taxes would generate enough money to make the necessary changes. Nevertheless, there are drawbacks to such a solution. First and foremost, this would be an added burden on car drivers. At present, taxes are already high for a lot of people, and so further taxes would only mean less income at the end of the month for most people who may have no choice but to drive every day. In addition, this type of tax would likely be set at a fixed amount. This would mean that it would hit those with less money harder, whilst the rich could likely afford it. It is therefore not a fair tax. To conclude, this solution is worth considering to improve the current situation, but there are advantages and disadvantages of introducing such a policy. Hence, careful consideration should be taken before implementing this strategy.