In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

To eradicate the traffic concern, the Government bodies should impose high taxes on automobile owners and insvest that fund to improvise the public transportation. This change would certainly help in decreasing the number of cars on the roads and enable national authorities to make a decent amount of money but there will be a few drawbacks too. The main upside of putting up a higher tax on private motor owners is that it would decline the number of cars on the road. This is because a certain group of people would not consider buying vehicle anymore in order to save money. Thus, this would help in easing traffic concern. As per a recent survey by Times, if the price of the car increases by 10%, upto 40% consumers would let go buying a car. Furthermore, another advantage of this would be that the Government will still earn a huge sum of money through the reduced sales of vehicles which they can use to pace up the development of public transportation. Turning to another side, there could be a few downsides of applying exorbitant taxes to vehicle owners. Firstly, it is reasonable to expect a significant dip in the sales of private vehicles because a lot of people will stop buying motorcars. With this trend, automobile industry may face an economic slowdown and a lot of workers would be at risk of losing their jobs. Secondly, an increased taxes on a car would certainly make it even harder for a low income level person to afford a car. This means, an average salaried person who is already burdened with the high income tax, would not be able to buy a vehicle even if it is necessary for him and his family. To conclude, although applying high taxes on car owners to combat traffic issues has a few upsides such as lessen vehicle on road and high funds to the Government. However, high taxes would them less affordable for an average income person and may face a steep slowdown in car sales.