Shortage of housing has given several social consequences. Only government who can solve the problem.

Nowadays, housing shortage has become the cause of some major problem in the society. While others believe that the solution for this matter is solely in the hands of the government, I partly disagree with the statement, for both the government and private sector has its own role in providing adequate shelter to its people. Safety and security are among the responsibilities of the government to its resident. A good governance will serve as a key for the members of the society to open doors towards a secure and comfortable life. By providing a free or low-cost accommodation to every family, household members will have the chance to experience a convenient life away from harm. Living in a crowded and polluted area, for example, illness and some sort of violence may possibly be avoided if there is a safe place for everyone to stay. Thus, the government plays a big role in safeguarding the welfare of the public by ensuring adequate and affordable houses. Private sector, on the other hand, is also a big help for solving concern related to unavailability of housing resources especially in urban areas. It is undeniable fact that people from the rural sectors tend to move in the city in search for stable jobs offered mostly by some private companies, causing the urban population to grow. As the number of people living in the city increase, the demand for housing will also rise. Providing free board and lodging to its employee or simply creating a job away from the city is a great way in reducing social issues caused by lack of housing facilities, such as overpopulation. In general, social dilemma caused by shortage of housing could be settle by the join effort of the government and private sector in providing low-cost housing or free accommodation for all the people in need. Therefore, it is not a job of the government alone.