In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Now a day, Traffic is a major problem, some people believe that the authorities should impose a tax on private vehicle owners and should utilize the revenue generated to upgrade public transport. In this essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of this solution. Firstly of all, Subjecting people to taxes is a good way to lower the traffic. People will hesitate to buy or travel from a personal motor vehicle. In other words, as they have to pay heavy tax, they will not prefer to use individual car or motorbike. For example, it was found, In Australia, after government skyrocketed the tariffs, traffic was significantly less. Secondly, People will get better transport facilities, more common people will be able to use mass transit. Travelling will be much easier and it will also help to fight our environmental problems. For example, In Singapore metros were created by the tax payers money and it was found that the use of metro increased drastically and the pollution decreased remarkably. One disadvantage, raising taxes will definitely make people angry, as there are numerous other taxes to be paid. By this majority of people will lose interest in the personal vehicles. However, traffic will be significantly less. Second disadvantage is that, some People have to suffer due to their different job timings. It is not possible to run the rapid transport all the time. For instance, Also, public transport will consume more time to travel as compared to the latter. To conclude, applying heavy taxes will definitely create extra loads of money which can easily be used in building metros, trains and buses. Also, middle class will be benefited form the public transportation. It is a logical move to reduce the congregation of the vehicles.