Social media badly impact our relationships.

At the present day we cannot think of our lives without social media. Some people think that social media is influencing our daily life to such an extent that it is starting to affect our relationships. I completely agree with the point and this essay will discuss about this issue in great detail. Nowadays we are linked together with social media like Facebook, Linkedin, Whatsapp, Viber, Imo etc. We feel restless, if we are disconnected from these social platforms, even for a second. We keep our profile always updated with the latest information about our travels, foods, functions etc. Some people even take their mobile phone to the washroom, so that they do not miss any updates from their digital friends. Everyone in social media has hundreds of friends and most of our valuable time is wasted on communicating with them over minor issues, for example giving likes, share and comments on their posts. Although using social media to communicate with friends is not a crime, we are wasting too much of our valuable time on the internet and that is creating issue in our relationships. In current times, real friends are very hard to come by, but we can see that with the help of these social media we have thousands. Are they real friends? Obviously not. We are giving preference to these virtual friends over our real life friends and family. As a result, the distances are created between our relationships. A recent study has shown that five percent of divorces have happened because of social media where a partner is giving more importance to social friends over his partner. To summarize, it is very clear that everyone should take great care while using these social platforms because it can ruin or even break our relationships, if we become addicted to it. On the other hand, if we use it occasionally, then there will be no problem as we will have complete control over our lives.