Cities are becoming more and more congested and polluted as the number of private cars increases. What are the advantages and disadvantages of owning a car?

In this present era, there is an augmentation of private cars, increasing the congestion and pollution in the urban areas. Owning a car has plenty of favourable aspects, however, there are also detrimental effects towards the owner, as well as the environment. Further information about these will be discussed in the essay. With regard to the benefits of having a private car, there are numerous of them. The first and most significant one is it is convenient due to the owners’ freedom to travel around with no fixed timetable and route, as well as the reduction in time-consuming because it is unnecessary for them to walk, cycle or take a train to get to their destinations, which usually require a lot of time. Consequently, they can spend that time in more effective ways, for instance, learning, making an investment and hanging out with families or friends. Another noticeable advantage is their surrounding people may consider that they are reliable and financially responsible, in short, car proprietors might gain credibility. As a result of this, it might increase their business opportunities and the number of friends. Despite the positives owning a private car have, there are various converse points. One of the noticeable ones is it is not environmentally friendly. With more specificity, it creates an excessive amount of congestion, and likewise, pollution by emitting greenhouse gases: namely, carbon dioxide and methane, which can result in global warming and the melting of polar ice. Furthermore, people residing in polluted areas, especially cities, may become unhealthy such as having respiratory diseases and Pneumonia. Another disadvantage that could be considered is the expenditure on the vehicle, which is generally incredibly high. To be more specific, they need to spend their money on automobile maintenance and insurance. Moreover, it might rise their financial burdens in case that they take out a loan from monetary institutions like banks, as a consequence. In conclusion, the dramatic growth in the number of private cars affects the environment badly, nevertheless, people still continue to buy more cars due to the advantages and disadvantages it has. In order to solve the problems, the government should enhance the public transportation or legislate on carbon emissions, hence people might stop using their own cars.