In order to solve traffic problems, government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such solution.

Traffic on the road, is becoming a pressing issue for many countries, especially in their large metro cities. To help the streets from getting crowded with vehicles, it is required for the state to impose bigger taxes on those using individual vehicles and then use the collected amount to develop their public transportation infrastructure. This essay will discuss the dis-advantages and advantages of implementing it. In fact, there are a few de-merits of levying higher tax from individuals, which clearly would result in lesser cars on the road. For example, it is a widely known fact that without private cars, it would strip people of their convenience. In addition, it would entail pressure on the authorities to build better infrastructure for the public transportation. Not only will it increase the commuting time between different places, but also the efforts required. In comparison, there are a lot more advantages. For instance, it is an obvious matter that, higher the taxes, more the number of people using the public facilities, for commuting. This is turn would result in lesser traffic on the road and clearing up the space. Further, it adds to lesser pollution levels and in reducing the impact on the environment. Moreover, it not only helps people in saving money because of lesser expenditure, but also helps the economy to size up. In conclusion, the advantages of imposing higher tax easily outweigh its disadvantages. By pressing more tax, the government can effectively bring down the traffic levels in their cities. Certain countries have already implemented this, which has turned out to be fruitful.