In order to solve traffic problems, government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages of such a solution?

Traffic congestion in metropolitan is the remarkable dilemma. One possible solution to solve this sever problem is to impose heavy taxes on car drivers and make use of this money directly to develop public transport and improve more facilities for people who commute every day One of the benefit of this solution would be less use of private cars that it would lead to less traffic and thus, decreasing air pollution. If the money that earned from tax of car drivers paid out on public transport improvements, there would surge in demand. This means that by optimizing public transportation, more car drivers would prefer to use it, since they find it a convenient an appropriate way similarly to their car. For example, more trains and buses now are old an depreciated. According to that, most people are likely to not use them. However, high taxes would generate adequate money to dispel these problems and increases the quality and quantity of public transports, such as buses and trains. Nevertheless, there are merits to this plan, in turn there would be some drawbacks. First and foremost, this situation would be a heavy burden for who are car drivers and must use their private car every day. At present, high taxes put a heavy pressure on most of the people, and so further one would only mean that there would be less money at the end of month. Another disadvantage of this is that it is more likely to be fixed amount, means that it makes the situation only harder for who has not enough money, while the rich could afford it easily. It is not therefore justifiable and fair measure. To sum up, although there are some disadvantages through offering tax on car drivers, I personally believe that the merits are more prominent.