Eating too much sugar is harmful for health. Some people think that it is government responsibility to limit people's sugar consumption while others think that is individual's responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat.

Undoubtedly, over consumption of sugary foods is detrimental to our wellbeing. Consequently, it is thought by some that the lawmakers should be responsible to curb the intake of sugars by the people. Others, however, believe that it is the individual's duty to reduce the quantity of sugars he or she consumes. In my opinion, I consider that the government is in the best position to curb this trend because they have the authority to enact strict laws on company producing high sugar content products. On the one hand, some people have suggested that government should be responsible to benchmark people's sugar intake and I agree. Firstly, legislators can impose constringent laws on production companies that manufacture sugar related products. This is because the problem of eating too much sugars starts with the companies that produces them. For instance, NAFDAC, a food regulatory body in Nigeria, provided a guide on the maximum sugar level to be included in each product before release to the public. Furthermore, if lawmakers allow the people to consume much sugar, it will result in health issues such as diabetes and obesity. In the long run, treating these problems could result in allocating more funds into the health sector which could be invested into other sectors. On the other hand, other people opine that it is the individual's duty to restrict the amount of sugar to eat. The reason for this is that people can decide to consume whatever he or she chooses. They have access to the products, either in shops, at workplace or at school. So, to purchase and eat such products is their decision. Moreover, they feel the pains of any consequences that might result from taking too much sugars. Hyperglycemia, for instance, is associated with frequent rigour, excessive sweating and polyuria especially at night. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I believe that government should impose precautionary measures in controlling people's consumption of sugars because it will serve them from spending more money on the health sector.