In order to reduce crime, we need to attack the causes of crime such as poverty and lack of educational opportunities. It is not enough to simply have more police on the street and put more people in prison. with this opinion?

Day by day, the rate of crime in the world is increasing rapidly. Some people believe that the most effective methods for reducing crime are the police force and jails. However, others think that the best way to fight rising levels of crime is to address the underlying factors such as poor education and poverty. A new study by the NSW Bureau of Crime Statistics and Research (BOCSAR) has found that increasing police numbers can reduce crime. For this reason, I strongly disagree as I believe by having more police on the street and putting more people into prison undeniably will reduce the number of crime. Firstly, criminals will not be so aggressive in committing crime as the police is everywhere to directly tackle the crime. Criminals scared to commit the crime especially when the police are around as they cannot commit the crime easily. Police will always patrol around the area so, the number of crime will decrease. For example, by locating every street with at least one police in residential area, it definitely make the criminals feel unsafe to do the crime which means they are not going to do the crime freely. Thus, by having more police, it definitely reduce the crime as the criminals are not free to do so. On top of that, additional police can arrest more offenders leading to incapacitation or cessation of offending among targeted offenders. The reason why the crime out there is increasing is because we cannot arrest the main culprit of the crime and the criminals normally is in multiple. So, this additional police can help to arrest all the criminals at one time without letting the other criminals get away. For instance, the robbery in the street which the felon can easily run away from anybody as there are many streets around. If there is an adequate number of police, surely, the criminal will be arrested. Therefore, it is worth to have more police on the street rather than attack the cause of the crime to solve the numbers of crime. Besides that, punishment like putting the criminals in the prison will make them think twice before committing the crime. Living in the prison is not same as living out there where you are free to go anywhere, to eat anything and to do whatever you like to do as long as it will not bothering other people. Prison can be compared as living in a hell where everything is limited. Normally you need to spend more than a year in the prison. Your life will be wasted in prison. In the case of the misdemeanour which includes a fine of no more than $1, 000 and a sentence of imprisonment of no more than 12 months, the theft offense has to bear such cost and waste his time in the prison. So, it is important to just put the offender in the prison to reduce the number of crime. In a nutshell, I think we need to be hard on criminals. There are also sinner coming from rich people committing to such crimes like not paying taxes. Hence, I do not think we can successfully reduce crime only by focusing on the causes of crime.