In order to be truly employable the educated person should be able to demonstrate not just knowledge but also the ability to work independently in teams How can teamwork best be encouraged and assessed in educational settings

In modern workplace, one’s employability is linked not only to his display of academic understandings but also to his ability to perform individually while still cooperating with his partners. For this reasons, various measures should be taken to promote and evaluate teamwork skills in schools. To begin with, teachers should assign group projects on suitable and interesting topics more often. For instance, students could be asked to team up to look up information and present about bubble milk tea’s positive and negative impacts on our lives in terms of health and finance. In my opinion, while working together to investigate intriguing topics such as above, students will have opportunities to use critical thinking skills to have multidimensional discussions with their team members. However, the drawback here is that some students will slack off and completely rely on their friends’ hard work. In order to deal with that, teachers may ask each group to keep a study journal, which would be submitted to them periodically. In details, this journal should include updates regarding each member’s findings, of which contents are related to their assignment, on a daily basis. With this tool, teachers should be able to keep track of all the progress being made to give proper encouragement to both responsible individuals and those who are less enthusiastic. In addition, this also allows team members to compare their own contribution with others and encourage them to complete the tasks they are assigned with. In conclusion, there are several ways to create a steady platform on which student’s teamwork skills may grow, but the effective ones always have to stimulate their interests with genuinely practical tasks and tools that permit timely acts of motivation and self-reflection.