In most universities students focus on specialized subjects, however some people believe that universities should encourage student to study a wide spectrum of subjects. Give your opinion

In the past few years, the crime rate around the world has increased so alarmingly such that criminals are found committing not only physical crimes but also digital or cybercrimes. Although few people consider it is government’s responsibility to avoid crimes, some think one should be self-sufficient to defend oneself. This essay will debate why it is everyone’s responsibility to protect themselves rather than depending on external forces alone. Government should take various measures to reduce crime rate. It is their prime duty to save their citizens and make sure they stay true to the trust endowed upon them by the common man. For instance, government can deploy more police on the ground who will be patrolling the streets. Another way is, police administration can have several helpline numbers where citizens can report a crime. As a result, for such cases an on-the-spot team will be ready for quick action. Although respective governing authority will take such steps to avoid crimes, it is of prime importance that we take care of ourselves. We can avoid most of the crimes by being alert of our surroundings. For example, we should report immediately if we see unidentified luggage in public places. We should be aware of our surroundings and report any suspicious activity around us. We should have the physical strength to defend ourselves by learning various mechanisms such as karate, martial arts etc. To conclude the discussion, I would like to say that, it is eminent that we need both government intervention for crime avoidance and self-awareness to protect oneself. But, in my opinion, it is absolutely necessary to be self-sufficient to safeguard oneself. Hence, I believe we must train ourselves physically and mentally to protect ourselves, which is indeed our responsibility.