In modern times, young adults are spending less time with their families and more time with their friends. Why has this change occurred? Do you think parents should force their children to spend more time at home?

In these times, adolescents would rather spend more of their free time with peers, consequently having little time for their kin. This is because of a similarity of interests among peers and none with family members. Parents can present these young people with mutually satisfying activities rather than coercing them to stay indoors. The youth of today have a varied set of interests, most of which differ from that of the members of their families, particularly parents. They would rather spend time engaging in activities with friends who share similar interests such as social media video games. A recent study stated that there is an increasing number of users of these games in the past year and the statistics clearly state that 90 percent of users fall under the age range of 16 to 24 which are classified as young adults. Also, it has been concluded by behavioural scientists that the brain secretes the same quantity of the substance (serotonin) when a subject is engaged in a pleasurable activity such as video games regardless of the person with whom it is played. This highlights that the act rather than the person it is engaged in with is the cause of the pleasure. With this in mind, understanding and sharing same interests with their young ones is surely a way for parents to ensure they spend more time at home. Taking the effort to speak with them about their likes and dislikes and being clear about intent without chastising or ridicule. This will foster better communication between both parties, enhance their relationship and lead to these young adults feeling more relaxed and present at home. Research has revealed that teens with whom their parents engage in social activities have a better relationship with family members and spend more time at home. In conclusion, nowadays, young people would rather interact with mates during their free time than stay at home with parents owing to the differences in interests between them and their families. Participating in mutually engaging interests with them will help parents ensure they stay home instead of forcing them to do so.