In modern times, young adults are spending less time with their families and more time with their friends. Why has this change occurred? Do you think parents should force their children to spend more time at home?

Spending more time with friends rather than family has become common in young adults nowadays. This essay will explain the reasons, why this has happened, which is mainly working parents and more independence given to children than before and the reasons why parents must not force their children to stay at home. The main reasons for the change are that both the parents are working in the current times and children, thus become independent and find company outside their home. In old times, parents made a constant effort to stay along with their kids and spend time with them, but now in the modern times, with the increased cost of living, both the parents have to work hard to survive in the competitive world. For instance, in the recent survey, by the Art Of Living, 50% of parents admitted that they spend less than two hours with their children every day because of the busy work schedule. Furthermore, this has led children to be more independent than before, and thus they spend most of the time with their friends to avoid isolation and loneliness. They find a new family with friends and get engaged in activities with them. However, children must not be forced by parents to stay at home. This will not only make them think that somebody is encroaching their independence, but also make them rebellious. Rather, parents must try to engage with their children by planning trips and doing fun family activities together. In this way, they can spend more time with their children and also not make them think that they are being forced. For example, in a survey done by the Times Of India in 2018, the stats demonstrated that those parents who make constant efforts to go on trips and engage in fun activities along with their children have closer relationships with them in comparison to others. In conclusion, busy parents and independent children are the main reasons that young adults spend less time with their families nowadays. However, forcing them to stay at home will only make them more rebellious, therefore it is better that parents find ideas and ways to spend quality time with their children.