In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In 2030, the global average life expectancy will reach over 80. Since the initial existence of human being, we have witnessed the growth of population as well as the length of time people are likely to live, which is presently damaging the economy abominably. This is a seriously alarming concern to a wide range of developed countries, due to their high living standards; however, the government are taking preparations against this. Irreparable worry had been brought about by the rise of our living period owing to the manpower shortages. Having a great quality of life proves people that retirement is the time to enjoy the fruits of their labours; as a consequence, their reproductions are not focused. An excellent example would be that Germany, whose reproduction rate is acutely low, are always looking for the foreign viable human resources from developing countries. But, in my opinion, these countries will find the best antidote to brain drain and thus the developed ones have to anticipate this dilemma before it arises. Tracing the roots of this longevity directs us to the increase of living standards. The high average life expectancy can be attributed to three major factors and there are education, health care, and welfare. To exemplify, in Germany, the tuition fees from primary to the higher education is almost free or nearly negligible, that is why it is the best ideal destination for student overseas. It can be obviously seen that the high living standard, indeed longevity, is worldwide trend; ergo, a quick fix to this now is also necessary. While the complication is seemingly insurmountable the same is not left with no viable answer to it and primary of which is extending retirement age. This can deal with the lack of labour and additionally, thanks to the advancement of medicine, aged people can still keep their creation and productivity. To illustrate this point, in Vietnam, some elderly work traditional job, for instance, pedicab riding, water puppet, and so on, and this contributes to protecting the national culture. All above points considered, the dilemma of upturn in average life expectancy because of the welfare benefits are absolutely solved through the implementation of laws, metaphorically speaking, diamond cut diamond