In many western countries, there is an increasing number of couples choosing to have no children. what are the advantages and disadvantages of having no children?

An increasing number of couples around the world are taking the decision not to have kids. In my opinion childless couples can have more financially stable life; however, they may face many problems when they reach their retirement age. The foremost benefit of not having children is the availability of disposable income. The cost of raising a child had surged during the last few decades and it has become very difficult to manage the school fees, healthcare costs and other expenses related to kids. Without the responsibility of children, couples can have more financial freedom. A research paper published in the Wall Street Journal reported that American couples without kids had 60% more savings than those who had at least one or more kids to raise. However, there are also a few drawbacks to this trend. The most significant problem is that when the couple grow old, they lack the emotional and financial support. It is very common that the kids support their old parents financially and spend time taking care of them. Such assistance is not available to the people who decide to live their lives without children. It impacts the satisfaction and happiness of these people. For instance, a survey carried out by Harward University claim that the Americans living without children are 65% more likely to face depression and anxiety In conclusion, although the lack of kids can provide an opportunity to have more financial savings, there are negative consequences. Couples without children tend to have less satisfied life after the retirement age because there is nobody to take care of them.